Some schools in the region are closed. Click here for a full list.


Appalachian Wireless Banner

Not logged in // Login // Sign up


Nine counties added to federal disaster area

President Barack Obama added nine counties Friday to the federal disaster area, bringing the total to 16 counties. Bath, Campbell, Carroll, Grant, Magoffin, Martin, Montgomery, Rowan and Wolfe counties now join the list of counties eligible for individual assistance in the form of grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the aftermath of the disaster. They join Johnson, Kenton, Laurel, Lawrence, Menifee, Morgan and Pendleton counties, which were subject to the disaster declaration when it was first issued Tuesday evening. The news was especially welcome in Magoffin County, where current estimates are that 80 businesses and 300 homes were destroyed, and damages are estimated to total over $45 million.

Filed under: Rowan Co. | Wolfe Co. | Magoffin Co. | Martin Co. | Economy | Weather


Log in


Username is required.


Password is required.

Forgot password?