Some schools in the region are closed. Click here for a full list.


Appalachian Wireless Banner

Not logged in // Login // Sign up


Winter Weather Advisory for Eastern Kentucky leads to school closings throughout the region

The National Weather Service in Jackson has issued a Winter Weather Advisory for most of Eastern Kentucky beginning at 12 pm today. The following counties are included in the advisory : Breathitt, Clay, Harlan, Floyd, Knott, Perry, Leslie, Letcher, Pike, Johnson, Martin and Magoffin. Up to one inch of snow is possible through this evening. The advisory prompted several school districts to close today including : Breathitt, Floyd, Jenkins Independent, Johnson, Leslie, Magoffin, Martin, Powell and Wolfe counties. Cold temperature are also expected to return to the region next week.

Filed under: Magoffin Co. | Martin Co. | Floyd Co. | Johnson Co. | Weather | Around the region | Announcements | Schools


Log in


Username is required.


Password is required.

Forgot password?