Floyd County Students Selected for 2019 Governors Scholar Program

Four Floyd County students have been selected as candidates for the 2019 Kentucky Governor’s Scholar Program. The students selected are Aariana Sparks of Betsy Layne High School; Chad Bates and Logan Turner of Floyd Central High School; and Cameron Goble of Prestonsburg High School. The selection process for Governor’s Scholars is competitive, with judges considering written essays, quality of grades, and test scores. The best students them compete with students from across Kentucky. This year, 1,863 applied to be Governor’s Scholars with a little over half of the applicants selected. The Kentucky Governor’s Scholar Program is an enhanced summer learning program for students going into their senior year of high school. In addition to the on campus experience, students receive scholarships that average more than $60,000, depending on the college/university the student selects.